Read Harder 2016, Part 2

Here is part two of my reading challenge list for 2016, which covers all the tasks set by Panels for reading comics widely and consciously. Read my Book Riot challenge list here.

Panels 2016 Reading Challenge

mis(h)adraRead a self-published comic: Mis(h)adra by Iasmin Omar Ata
Webcomics are self-published by definition, so that seemed the easiest place to start for this task. I wanted to choose something complete and self-contained though, even if it isn’t available in physical form. This one has been on my list since I discovered it earlier this year.

Bitch Planet Vol. 1Read a feminist comic: Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine De Landro
I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve only read the first 3 issues of this amazing comic. Keeping up with single issues can be tough, especially when you lapse and let them collect in massive piles too daunting to wade through (oops).

Gotham Academy Vol. 1Read a comic featuring one or more teenage protagonists: Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brendan Fletcher, & Karl Kerschl
This one has been recommended to me more times that I can count. I’ve loved Fletcher’s work on Batgirl and Black Canary, and the mystery element sold me on this comic. So why haven’t I read it before now? Maybe I’m just bitter about losing the wonderful creator of The Abominable Charles Christopher to the Big Bad Comics Industry.

Thor - The Goddess of ThunderRead a superhero comic whose race or gender has been changed from the traditional hero: Thor: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron, Russell Dautermn, & Jorge Molina
I was so excited to learn about this development when it happened. I’ve already been spoiled on the true identity of Thor (shame on me for not reading it sooner), but I’m still eager to see how Aaron has handled the new Thor, and to daydream about this kind of shift coming to the MCU.

Superman - Red SonRead a complete run of a comic: Superman: Red Son by Mark Millar, Dave Johnson, Kilian Plunkett, Andrew Robinson, & Walden Wong
Superman is usually my least favorite among superheroes, both in film and comics. But I’m intrigued by this miniseries that poses a unique scenario: what if the quintessential American hero had found a home in the USSR instead?

Game of Thrones - The Graphic Novel Vol. 1Read a comic based on a book and the book it’s based on: A Game of Thrones by Daniel Abraham, Tommy Patterson, & George R R Martin
This series is unavoidable in any discussion of modern fantasy, so I should probably stop putting it off and just get down to it. I’m starting with the graphic novel as a primer to this massive series, but no guarantees I will actually finish all 5 books. We’ll start at the beginning and see where it leads.

Woman Rebel - The Margaret Sanger StoryRead a graphic biography: Woman Rebel: The Margaret Sanger Story by Peter Bagge
With birth control, abortion, and reproductive rights firmly in the 2016 spotlight, this biography seems an appropriate read for the upcoming year.

EmbroideriesRead a comic that was originally published in a language different from your own: Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi
Since reading and teaching Persepolis in college, Satrapi has become one of my favorite comic creators. However, I’ve only read a couple of her shorter comics, a travesty I’m trying to correct in 2016.

Copperhead Vol. 1Read a comic set in space: Copperhead by Jay Faerber, Scott Godlewski, Ron Riley, & Thomas Mauer
My boyfriend has been all over me to read this one lately, and this seems as good a reason as any. It should also pair well with another book on my Book Riot challenge list: Andy Weir’s The Martian.

Rice BoyRead a collected webcomic: Rice Boy by Evan Dahm
I had the pleasure of meeting Dahm earlier this year at TopatoCon, where he led a panel on world building. Through his stories, Dahm has created a vast universe that spans one ongoing and two complete webcomics. Rice Boy is the first of these Overside adventures.

Genius Vol. 1Read a comic with at least one creator of color: Genius by Marc Bernardin, Adam Freeman, & Afua Richardson
I discovered this comic through this list at Panels. Or rather, the comments on that list. I had never heard of Genius before then, and am hoping that the Panels commenters haven’t led me astray with this one.

Akira Vol. 1Read a comic set in Asia by an Asian creator: Akira by Katsuhiro Otomo
After finally watching this anime classic, I figured it was about time I read the manga it’s based on. I’ve never read manga, so this will be a completely new experience for me.

Strong Female ProtagonistRead a superhero comic not by one of the Big Two: Strong Female Protagonist by Brennan Lee Mulligan & Molly Ostertag
There are so many great superhero webcomics that I sometimes lose track. I started reading this comic sometime last year after reading The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks, but had to put it aside. I’m looking forward to starting from the beginning and actually getting caught up this time.

DaytripperRead a slice-of-life comic not set in the U.S.: Daytripper by Fabio Moon & Gabriel Ba
This will be my introduction to Moon and Ba, whose work I’ve heard much about but never actually read. I decided to start with the one about writers and writing in an attempt to spark some kind of inspiration for the year to come. Or maybe just to commiserate with other discouraged writers.

Adventure Time - Bitter SweetsRead a comic that has been adapted from a TV show or movie: Bitter Sweets by Kate Leth, Zack Sterling, & Meredith McClaren
This one was a no-brainer. Kate Leth’s Adventure Time books are some of my favorites, and they’re even more relevant now that she’s a big-time writer for Marvel and Dynamite.

March Vol. 1Read a comic about a historical event: March by John Robert Lewis, Andrew Aydin, & Nate Powell
This one has been on my list since it debuted in 2013. With the U.S. on the verge of a second civil rights movement, it seems accounts like this are important now more than ever.

Echo - Moon LakeRead a black and white comic: Echo by Terry Moore
Moore’s Strangers in Paradise is one of my favorite comics of all time, so naturally another of his series made it on my list this year. I chose this series over his current, ongoing title Rachel Rising because it is complete, and I will actually be able to finish it if it sucks me in the way Strangers did.

The LighthouseRead a watercolor comic: The Lighthouse by Colin Lawler
This one was tough, so I chose a comic I’m already familiar with. I started this webcomic in 2014 after Lawler did a guest strip for The Abominable Charles Christopher, but soon discovered that it is better read in batches than on a weekly basis. Plus, it’s been on hiatus since September, which will give me plenty of time to catch up on this gorgeous comic.

One Comment Add yours

Leave A Reply

